• Carl Vader Blog
  • Street SUP the best crosstraining sport for SUP Surfing
  • Tecnica
  • Forum
  • Annunci Usato
  • Meteo
  • Viaggi
  • Reviews

Music To Paddle With. April 2017. Above & Beyond - Acoustic II

Inserito in Non categorizzato

Music To Paddle With - A&B - Acoustic II

Our CD of the month is “Acoustic II” fifth studio album released by the English trance musical group Above & Beyond. The musical project was formed in 2000 by Jono Grant and Paavo Siljamäki, both attending the University of Westminster at the time. Sharing a common interest for Electronic Music, the duo started to write songs together and set up their own label, named Anjunabeats, in order to release them. After a few months Jono and Paavo published their first single, “Volume One”, under the Anjunabeats alias. However, after this first release they used different names, namely Dirt Devils and Free State. “Volume One” was an instant hit that was supported by famous DJs, such as Paul Oakenfold, Paul Van Dyk and Pete Tong. A series of remixes and singles released under the name of Free State and Dirt Devils consolidated the band’s success to such an extent that the duo was recruited by Tony McGuinness, marketing director & manager of Warner Music Group. Tony had been commissioned to remix the Trance hit “Home” by Chakra. Jono and Paavo helped Tony to complete the remix that turned out to be highly successful. In fact, after being played on BBC Radio 1, this remix reached number one in the UK Club charts. Along with Tony McGuinness, the group also started the vocal trance project Oceanlab with Justine Suissa as the main singer. Other noteworthy collaborators in the band's include Andy Moor and vocalists Carrie Skipper, Ashley Tomberlin, Zoë Johnston, and Richard Bedford. Over the last 16 years the musical group has enjoyed an enormous success in the Dance Music arena, so the news that the band would perform, back in 2013/2014, a series of acoustic concerts caught critics and fans alike by surprise. Nevertheless, this momentary change in their musical direction proved to be extremely successful and gave birth to their first acoustic studio album, “Acoustic” in 2014. After a fourth album “We Are All We Need”, the band released another acoustic album, “Acoustic II”.

A&B Acoustic II

Featuring Zoë Johnston, Justine Suissa, Alex Vargas, Cobi and Natalie Holmes, this second acoustic album was an instant success. If “Acoustic” had covered most of the band’s best songs, “Acoustic II” features their last hits and does not disappoint. Simply put, this album tops Acoustic in terms of sheer quality. The album blends downtempo (think of Zero 7 masterpiece “Simple Things”) and cinematic soundscapes, very reminiscent of James Bond soundtracks, pervades this stunning album where the romantic voices Zoë, Justine, Cobi, Alex and Natalie blend beautifully with the lush string arrangements. Highlights of the album are “Save Me”, “Alchemy” and “Blue Sky Action”. Perfect tunes to paddle by.

Track Listing

   1. Hello
   2. We're All We Need
   3. On My Way To Heaven
   4. Save Me
   5. All Over The World
   6. No One On Earth
   7. Black Room Boy
   8. Peace Of Mind
   9. Sticky Fingers
 10. Alchemy
 11. Counting Down The Days / Liquid Love
 12. Blue Sky Action
 13. Another Chance

Genre: Acoustic 


Order the CD on Amazon.UK @


Visit the musical group website @ http://www.aboveandbeyond.nu/

e-max.it: your social media marketing partner

Non hai i privilegi necessari per postare commenti