• Forum
  • Street SUP the best crosstraining sport for SUP Surfing
  • Viaggi
  • Tecnica
  • Meteo
  • Carl Vader Blog
  • Annunci Usato
  • Reviews
  • starboard
  • Starboard SUP. Click here!

Music To Paddle With. 05/2018. Jeff Oster - Next

Inserito in Non categorizzato

Jeff Oster - Next

Our CD of the month is “Next”, fourth studio album of the America brass instrument player Jeff Oster. Jeff’s first effort was the four tracks EP “At Last”. Released in 2004, the album was produced by none other than Will Ackerman, founder of the New Age label Windham Hill Records. One year later, the artist published his first full album, “Released”, which also featured all the tracks from the debut EP. “Released”, hailed by critics, was awarded Album of the Year and Best Contemporary Instrumental Album awards at the NAR Lifestyle Music Awards presented by NewAgeReporter.com. In addition, the track “At Last” won the Best New Age Song award at the 5th Independent Music Awards. With the next album “True”, released in 2007, the artist consolidated his success. The third, “Surrender”, hit the shelves 4 years later but, according to fans and critics alike, it was worth the wait. In September, 2011, Echoes, the nationally syndicated radio program hosted by John Diliberto chose Surrender as its September CD of the Month. In September and October 2011, Surrender reached #1 on the Zone Music Reporter New Age/Ambient radio charts. On December 6, 2011, Surrender was chosen by the staff at Echoes as one of the Top 25 Essential CDs of 2011, ranking it at #12. The listeners of Echoes voted Surrender as its 7th most popular CD on the Best of Echoes 2011 Listeners Poll on December 12, 2011. On February 12, 2012, Surrender was nominated by broadcasters worldwide for Album of the Year and Best Chill/Groove Album for the 2011 ZMR Awards at ZoneMusicReporter.com. On March 8, 2012, Surrender was nominated for Best New Age Album, and “Beautiful Silence”, a track from Surrender was nominated for Best New Age Song at the 11th Annual Independent Music Awards. On March 11, 2012, Surrender won the ZMR Music Award for Album of the Year and Best Chill/Groove Album for the 2011 ZMR Awards,at ZoneMusicReporter.com. Four years later the artist released “Next”, his fourth studio album. Like the previous efforts the album was well acclaimed by critics and enjoyed a pretty good commercial success. Aside from William Ackerman, also producer of the album, “Next” include collaborations with of the album, produced by William Ackerman, from William himself, Tom Eaton, who also plays synth, bass guitar and keys, Nile Rodgers, Chuck Rainey, Tony Levin and Michael Manring on bass, Bernard Purdie on drums, Catherine Marie Charlton and Philip Aaberg on piano, singers Melissa Kaplan from Universal Hall Pass and Noah Wilding, and Shambhu Vineberg, Carl Weinberg, Scott Tarulli, Todd Boston and Taylor Barefoot on guitar, Britt Brady and Ricky Kej on loop and track programming, Vanil Veigas on sarangi and Jeff Taboloff on saxophone.

Jeff Oster - Next
Jeff Oster’s sound defies specific classification and encompasses many different musical styles: New Age, Jazz, Lounge, Chillout and Downtempo just to cite a few. These layered soundscapes created by the artist are trumpet driven for the most part, but their tone, rhythm and arrangements are often different from track to track and “Next”, a rollercoaster of musical genres and emotions, is no exception. The album features melodic, seductive, dark, uplifting, noir songs with no one sounding like the other.
A true musical gem, “Next” never ceases to amaze the listener, evoking the sound of musical icons such as Miles Davis, Jon Hassell, Herb Alpert and Mark Isham. Picking the usual three standout tracks is nearly impossible in this case but if we had to choose we’d mention  the opener and title track “Next”, “Half a Cookie” and “Avenue D”. In all, “Surrender” is a stunning album! Perfect tunes to paddle by …


Track Listing

   1. Next
   2. Night Train to Sofia
   3. Gardens of Varanasi
   4. Turn Left At San Pancho
   5. I Can't Make You Love Me
   6. On Mother's Day
   7. Half a Cookie
   8. Ibiza Sunrise
   9. Avenue D
 10. The Mystery of B
 11. Heroes
 12. And We Dance

Genre: Jazz, Lounge, Chillout, Chillout

Order the CD on Amazon UK @


Visit the artist's website @


e-max.it: your social media marketing partner

Non hai i privilegi necessari per postare commenti